I received this e-mail today from the new teacher who is now teaching in my former classroom:

Hey Anne,

The freshman are cute and wide-eyed and eminently manageable, so far anyway. When they arrived I was struck by a deep sense of urgency that said wow, these kids deserve such a good education. Followed by: oh crap, now how do I give it to them? Hopefully we can figure that second part out.

I am relieved to know that someone who feels the weight of teaching is filling my shoes and will continue to care deeply and work hard for those freshmen.  I’m also feeling the weight of my own responsibility as his program director: we will figure it out.

32 Middle School and High School teachers in South Dakota.   2000 students who each deserve an excellent education.  We have to figure it out, quickly.

